American Girl Time Machine

Posted: March 14, 2015 in Sewing
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I must have accidentally spilt some radioactive juice on my sewing machine because J’s doll came back from 1969 with a hippy dress and very feminine vest. 

Actually I decided to try my hand at converting life size patterns to 18″ doll size pattern. 

Here’s my inspiration: 



Here’s what I think it will look like on her doll:



I borrowed a vest pattern and re shaped the front. I found a bodice pattern and added length to it and the sleeves. After some rectangles for the cuffs and collar and drawing out a tie, bam! A new pattern. 





Now, I will have to add even more length to the dress or some white leggings because wooo that dress is way too short for a little lady. 





I think that it needs miniature frog closures or eyelets on the vest. What do you think?

Leave a Reply

