Ombré Party!

Posted: March 12, 2015 in Sewing
Tags: , , , ,

I have some tie dye powder left over from a project I did a few years ago. We had tie dyed some white pillowcases to donate to the local children’s hospital. Waste not, want not! So I decided to put the leftovers to use.

 I love Liberty Jane! So many inspiring ideas, patterns, and tips. Liberty Jane has a video on ombré dying that inspired me to dye some fabric for a dress. This way I can turn, flip, and cut the fabric pieces as I please. 

I used red and yellow to make an orange color. I used a water jug cut in half to hold the dye. I placed it in the sink to keep the mess minimal. It turned out a little peachy. This was definitely a test run. I need more ombré dying practice.

I decided to let it drip dry for a little to see if it fades a bit. Here’s what it looked like while drip drying. 



I just finished it this morning at 4:30am. Yawn! After an evening of sewing at a church activity, I hit my bed pretty fast but didn’t stay asleep for long. I’ve been up since 2:30 searching Pinterest, Etsy, and EBay for inspiration and then decided to actually be productive. 

I chose Simplicity pattern 1484’s wrap dress. It’s a simple pattern that I thought would show off the ombré coloring.  





Leave a Reply

